CensusPlus reboot

General discussion of WarcraftRealms UI Mods
Post Reply
User avatar
bringoutyourdead
Forums Admin & general flunky
Posts: 1410
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 1:11 pm
Location: Texas, USA

CensusPlus reboot

Post by bringoutyourdead » Thu Oct 17, 2019 1:53 am

It is ugly as all get out.. and it barely works
But I have uploaded data to the site.

Image

User avatar
bringoutyourdead
Forums Admin & general flunky
Posts: 1410
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 1:11 pm
Location: Texas, USA

Post by bringoutyourdead » Thu Oct 17, 2019 2:15 am

Yes I have merged some code from the forked version.. and other addons.
I have done some cleaning of obvious bugs, like you don't keep displaying query attempts after the run is finished.
The ManualWho button will disappear after I finish testing.. it isn't really useful for normal purposes.

And yea.. I have added the two new races for 8.3
and I still need to shift some graphic elements.

I am having some issues with the mouse click integration and the key binding.
(When I have the later working, I will be moving it to the default key binding interface)

I also need to integrate the visual aspects of the CensusPlus Button change.. really need to have discrete signaling on when the next trigger will be allowed.

I also have a partial but not complete solution for the over eager.. triggers that are too early will just be ignored

Balgair
Araiceil
Posts: 1733
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 11:47 am
Location: UK

Post by Balgair » Thu Oct 17, 2019 5:11 pm

Great! And good preparations with the new races already, I can see vulpera being rather popular, those are some cute animations they have hehe :)

User avatar
bringoutyourdead
Forums Admin & general flunky
Posts: 1410
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 1:11 pm
Location: Texas, USA

Post by bringoutyourdead » Sun Oct 20, 2019 6:06 am

Just sent Balgair a potential release candidate for retail CensusPlus testing

It is not what I really wanted. but it does work.

Poisonenvy
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2008 4:10 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by Poisonenvy » Sun Oct 20, 2019 9:40 am

Fingers crossed!

Balgair
Araiceil
Posts: 1733
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 11:47 am
Location: UK

Post by Balgair » Sun Oct 20, 2019 3:44 pm

Patchy (very much so, think something was bugging out for me), but I have completed and uploaded a census using it and reported in more detail to BOYD just what wasn't working for me. However, we have function at all, so it is a start! :)

User avatar
FuxieDK
Census Taker
Posts: 659
Joined: Thu May 22, 2008 11:36 am
Location: Copenhagen, DK

Post by FuxieDK » Wed Oct 23, 2019 2:59 am

I play on Draenor, one of the biggest servers, so personally, manual keypress for each /WHO is not a realistic option for me.

But, and I hope it's only for testing purpose, hard-coded Shift-Z is probably used by a lot of players already, so it will cause conflicts; please make it possible to customize.
Doing census mainly on Draenor; Raluf - Nimsay - Lusmo - Quixx - Sosyan - Garthog - Trubin - Zalistra - Zesmi and Djaang

Balgair
Araiceil
Posts: 1733
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 11:47 am
Location: UK

Post by Balgair » Wed Oct 23, 2019 9:11 am

Regarding Draenor's size, when I did a test census the other day, I thought I'd made a mistake doing it on Draenor as it'd take forever... eh, no, actually, only 743 online at 10pm :shock: Didn't realise Classic had had THAT big an impact on live servers, but that is way lower than I expected, would normally expect still over 1k 3-4 hours later than that...

Guess it'll go up when 8.3 hits but yeah, was surprised, very surprised tbh. on the plus side it makes censusing a whole lot more practical for now, even if we do have to keybind it (and I found the mouse hook does partially work, perhaps a few more reloads would've made it grab onto more things than it did lol).

User avatar
bringoutyourdead
Forums Admin & general flunky
Posts: 1410
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 1:11 pm
Location: Texas, USA

Post by bringoutyourdead » Wed Oct 23, 2019 7:10 pm

Don't bother with any specific key press.. just play the game normally..
I assume you click a mouse button every so often.. and the census will process.

If you want to see what is happening.. then turn on verbose.. if you don' t care.. don't
As you play the game you will see the count in the CensusPlus button start going down to 20 and then back to C+.

I am assuming you do have auto start configured.

I am fairly sure that a lot of the missed mouse clicks that Balgair saw was nothing more then the delay counter built into CensusPlus had not yet reached ZERO.. so the button press was ignored.

The minimum delay between queries is 5 seconds.. but it will always be a little be longer as the query is not triggered until the last query has been fully processed by CensusPlus.
The time for that depends on a number of variables.. your CPU speed, the WoW client allocation of resources for Addons to process, the number of addons, the size of your current CensusPlus data file, etc.

I have been mentally counting cadence after pressing a mouse button and get triggers at between 5 and 7 seconds.
I added a display of the countdown timer for my testing.. but have decided to not include it as currently implemented... While I understand what the display shows.. it would be confusing to regular players of the game.

And to the active player levels in retail wow.. oh yea.. it is way down.

People have limited game play time.. they now have the option of
Retail, Classic, some other Blizzard-activision game, a game from some other company.. or real world activities.

Blizzard doesn't care which of their games you are playing.. just that you are actively playing one of their games. (and spending money with them).
Classic has been a win-win for them.

I expect there will be a lot of bouncing back and forth between the two wow versions as each get new patches.

Balgair
Araiceil
Posts: 1733
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 11:47 am
Location: UK

Post by Balgair » Wed Oct 23, 2019 9:26 pm

I'm fairly sure it wasn't the delay counter unless it's set to take 30-60 seconds plus of it completely ignoring repeated attempts at one trigger and then magically work immediately when I switch to a different trigger, reliably working in 5-7 second intervals on those which I know to work :P I am aware of how it's meant to work lol (and I'm not so silly as to try something only once and assume it doesn't work)... it just didn't work on many things that I'd logically expect to work! Like I say, I might just have needed to reload a few more times to make it work better; can't check now as I'm out of internet for a couple of weeks while moving house :)

BambisFaline
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 5:59 pm

Post by BambisFaline » Tue Oct 29, 2019 8:48 pm

I've done a couple tests with the newest version. Enabling the click-on-interface option seems to generate an errror.

Clicking on the world works. It's fairly unnoticeable when you play, so it's a good substitution for the missing automation.

When you're just standing around in SW (which happens quite a lot on RP realms), it really is a ginormous pain in the neck. No way around it, however. Blizz detected fun and removed it as per policy.

BambisFaline
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 5:59 pm

Post by BambisFaline » Fri Nov 01, 2019 2:05 pm

Welp, looks like you're going to have to modify Census+ again for the new Death Knights. lol

Balgair
Araiceil
Posts: 1733
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 11:47 am
Location: UK

Post by Balgair » Fri Nov 01, 2019 9:19 pm

Hehe well at least there's no having to make space in the window for even more races/classes this time, just add DK to every race as a class option :lol:

User avatar
bringoutyourdead
Forums Admin & general flunky
Posts: 1410
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 1:11 pm
Location: Texas, USA

Post by bringoutyourdead » Mon Nov 04, 2019 8:21 pm

I tried to generate an error with the addon this weekend.. and even though I started as it I had never seen the addon before, I could not get anything other then the normal first time data file creation issue. Reminder... if you delete the CensusPlus.lua data file you either need to log out of the realm and log back in .. or do nearly the same thing with /reload ui command.

Here is what I told curseforge users.
A beta version of CensusPlus was uploaded a while back.. it seems to work ok but there are some user interface items I am not happy with so I have not marked it as a release yet.

This version triggers a who query after two requirements are met.

First a hardware trigger is fired in the client.

Second at least 5 seconds have past since the last query has been completely processed.



There are a number of ways that the hardware trigger is issued, the primary used in this add on is mouse button down events.

There are two variants of this event, one where your mouse pointer is over the world frame, and the other when it is over a UI action feature (i.e. a button item on screen).

The later does not always work due to Blizzard not attaching the right code to all UI items.

(example Horde hunter at Razer hill in Durotar, click on another classes trainer then closing the window with the X button or the GOODBYE button is a hardware trigger, clicking the close button on the general goods dealer is a hardware tigger, but clicking the close button on the bandage trainer is NOT a hardware trigger)

User avatar
bringoutyourdead
Forums Admin & general flunky
Posts: 1410
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 1:11 pm
Location: Texas, USA

Post by bringoutyourdead » Mon Nov 04, 2019 8:24 pm

New Death Knights isn't a big worry for me.
The level squish is.

Unless Metalbeast can find the time and update this site... I don't know what will happen.

Post Reply