Warning: newly connected realms have broken some things...

Discuss census information here
Post Reply
Balgair
Araiceil
Posts: 1711
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 11:47 am
Location: UK

Warning: newly connected realms have broken some things...

Post by Balgair »

Just spent an hour or so trying to diagnose why my database keeps getting wiped when I switch realm and finally found it: EU-Darkmoon Faire is now, since being connected on Thursday, making the addon think it's in the US (not sure if that's the addon getting confused by the extra connected realms or Blizzard's end sending wrong info *shrug*). So the addon thinks I changed region and wipes the db. Not only that but the lua is absolutely recording the connected group of realms as US ones - old lua files have "EU" at the start of the realm name, these do not, meaning the website will most likely believe what the lua tells it and add EU data to US realms.

So if you don't want to mess up the data for US realms (or get a big E if the database notices the issue), double check what region the addon thinks you're in before uploading from any recently connected realm. Ordinarily I'd send an SOS to BOYD but, well, see the other sticky thread... tbh it barely even matters any more but may as well make some attempt to preserve data integrity.

Well at least disabling it on DMF should solve the problem rather than having to remember to upload before it auto-wipes but still, *sigh*. Especially annoying is I'm having issues with the who window constantly popping up... only on Draenor. So running censuses is a lot less annoying on the realm I now can't run them on :roll:

User avatar
Poisonenvy
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2008 4:10 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Warning: newly connected realms have broken some things...

Post by Poisonenvy »

I've noticed the who window popping up regularly for me too. And I'm not on Draenor .. in fact my realm is pretty quite. It only seems to happen when I'm in an instance though? It's either that, or the "slow connection" error message in chat .. to be honest I'm usually busy when I see it, so have just been exiting the window and ignoring the message. Eventually it just seems to sort itself out.

Speaking of data integrity .. any idea if this site and it's data .. albeit increasingly out of date if the censusplus addon no longer works .. will still be around come SL? It would be nice to have even just a static database to look back through, occasionally.

Balgair
Araiceil
Posts: 1711
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 11:47 am
Location: UK

Re: Warning: newly connected realms have broken some things...

Post by Balgair »

Poisonenvy wrote:
Tue Sep 15, 2020 5:36 pm
Speaking of data integrity .. any idea if this site and it's data .. albeit increasingly out of date if the censusplus addon no longer works .. will still be around come SL? It would be nice to have even just a static database to look back through, occasionally.
Afraid I have no idea; aside from addon testing and having forum moderator privileges I'm not involved in the running of the site, BOYD did all that. Metalbeast hosts the site, and so long as he leaves it up, it will presumably still function (although I have no idea who pays for the domain name), and he's very much absent so may well just forget about it and leave it as-is for years to come. Or whoever's paying for the domain name may stop paying and we lose all access even though the database itself is still on the server, who knows :?

Actually glad to hear it's not just me with the who window popping up, I guess Blizz changed something then! Was wondering if it was anything broken on my end, but obviously it's not really worth trying to debug it now anyway...

Post Reply