WarcraftReamls.com
  FAQFAQ    SearchSearch    MemberlistMemberlist    UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
  ProfileProfile    Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages    Log inLog in 
Region keying is broken in CensusPlus

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    WarcraftRealms.com Forum Index -> CensusPlus UI Mod Bugs
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
bringoutyourdead
Forums Admin & general flunky


Joined: 07 Nov 2008
Posts: 1163
Location: Silicon Valley, CA, USA
WR Updates: 9,175,929
bringoutyourdead WR Profile

PostPosted: Mon Aug 22, 2016 4:18 pm    Post subject: Region keying is broken in CensusPlus Reply with quote

I have just discovered that CensusPlus is no longer correctly identifying the Region based upon the location of the logged in character.

Blizzard has changed something again.. sigh.

Example

US player creates an EU Battlenet account
creates a EU world of warcraft account
logs in from US region using enGB Locale
goes to German tab and logs in on German named realms.
Census works fine.
logs in on German realm that shares the same name as US realm.

CensusPlus isn't getting the region match and falls back to actual location of Player.. so realm is treated as US realm.
in game database is purged to protect data integrity as region has changed (as far as CensusPlus is concerned.)

DO NOT try to census other region realms if the same realm name exists in your own region.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bringoutyourdead
Forums Admin & general flunky


Joined: 07 Nov 2008
Posts: 1163
Location: Silicon Valley, CA, USA
WR Updates: 9,175,929
bringoutyourdead WR Profile

PostPosted: Mon Aug 22, 2016 5:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Refinement -- problem not as large as first thought.

One or more data entries in lib:RealmID has a bad capitalization on the realm name so no match returned, this caused my US client to default to US region.

If you find that your data is purged for some unknown reason..
open the CensusPlus window as you re-census the possibly problem realm.
Let me know which realm caused you the data loss (shows as wrong region)

I will be scanning EU realms from the US to see if I can catch any more naming errors.
If someone from the EU area would be willing to return the favor of running single census on US/Oceanic realm, it would be appreciated.

I expect any problems will be with realm names containing special characters .. such as , ` or -, but any realm might have a typo in the name
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bringoutyourdead
Forums Admin & general flunky


Joined: 07 Nov 2008
Posts: 1163
Location: Silicon Valley, CA, USA
WR Updates: 9,175,929
bringoutyourdead WR Profile

PostPosted: Mon Aug 22, 2016 6:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

EU-Aman'Thul

Oh Thank you Blizzard!!! Twisted Evil Twisted Evil Twisted Evil Evil or Very Mad

Every where I look the name for the realm is Aman'Thul

but if you do the API call GetRealmName while on that realm it returns the name Aman'thul

you can see for yourself if interested.. ignore the Blizzard warning about running scripts

/script local realm = GetRealmName(); print(realm)

sigh.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    WarcraftRealms.com Forum Index -> CensusPlus UI Mod Bugs All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
WarcraftRealms.com  


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group